Is your glass half full or half empty?


Positive people see the glass half full – why?

Because they appreciate what they have and what can be!

They see what they can do with it, they will make it last and make it better. They see more.

Negative people see the glass as half empty – because they see what is gone.  They see an empty space. They see the problems and not the solutions. They see less.

The positive person will think:  I can survive longer, because I will drink slowly, I will savor, and it will last longer. And I can always find more when this is gone. I believe in what can be.

The negative person will think:  I am going to die, there is nothing left. It is hopeless and I know better so I am right. I know more than others. I do not believe in what can be.

The “negatives” disrupt teams working together!  “Negatives” look not on how they can improve but why you suck at what you do.

*Positive people will see a cathedral                 *Negative people will see only bricks

*Positive people will say great Job!                   *Negative people will say, “Why didn’t you…”

*Positive people will be the life of the party    *Negative people will not get invited to the party

So how do we handle the “half empty personalities?” do we shut them out, or do we challenge them in conversation?  Do we ignore or do we need to let them go?

You see these are the folks who relish in having triangular conversations.

They are the ones that talk behind our backs. They are the ones with little courage and huge egos.

They are the ones that kill culture and bully their employees. They are the ones that drain your energy. They are the ones that yell and think they are worth more.

Working with half empty personalities isn’t easy; they will suck the life out of you.  The momentum of your team will increasingly be challenged.

Negative people want to stir you up, “Push your Buttons”!

Don’t let them, smile, leave the room, don’t get caught up with it.

Then simply decide: can they change or do you need to change them by hiring those that fit!

Smile and know that you are not superior or better but know that they are the ones that life does not shine upon and where relationships wither

Remind yourself that you are the creators of the future and the ones that others will follow to become their very own leaders.

Sister Mae I and HRMexplorer

 

About HRMexplorer

Managing Director - Human Capital Europe and USA - My ability is to recognize ingrained assumptions and patterns of operation that aren’t productive, and offer practical, cost-effective and value-based solutions.

Posted on January 26, 2012, in HRMexplorer Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  2. I pay a quick visit every day some blogs and blogs to read articles or
    reviews, however this webpage provides feature based articles.

  3. it appears that you have placed a lot of effort into your article and i require more of these on the net these days. i only wanted to comment to reply wonderful work. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  4. I understand what you mean, balance is the key. I am looking forward to following your posts.

    Tina

  5. Great post, I try to keep my glass half full all of the time. What is even better is trying to add water to the glasses of those I encounter each day at work.

    Tina

  1. Pingback: Decisions - Geek Ergo Sum

  2. Pingback: Positive Affirmations – How Do You View the World? « GREAT MENTOR

  3. Pingback: Decisions - GeekErgoSum

  4. Pingback: Today’s Motivations « Media Meme

Leave a comment

BallesWorld

Rezepte und Gesundheit

The Contrarian Emergency Manager

News, concepts, and opinions on emergency management and homeland security topics

Sara Rickover, Behind the Corporate Veil

A blog about management, law, mediation and writing, by someone who has done them all

Northeastern Pennsylvania Veterans Multicare Alliance

Serving those who served in Northeastern PA

anjelicadesigns

I've decided to pursue my passion in jewellery designs since I love femininity and all things beautiful and sparkly, well almost all. I'm a proud mother to two gorgeous and amazing girls. I recently left the corporate world, went through a tragic loss and relationship breakdown yet I'm here alive and still very much wanting to pursue my dreams and maintain a state of happiness. This site opens up a new world for me to share and if I'm really privileged connect with with others.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Organic Leadership Blog

Thoughts During My Leadership Journey

tmtConnect

Technology business matchmaking

The Whiteboard

New Zealand Recruitment Industry news, views and commentary from Rice Consulting

The Recruiters Little Black Book

News and views from the world of employment

HR Schoolhouse

Time to take your desks; school is in session

Recruiter's Couch

Because everyone is a candidate sometime

VOICES OF LEADERSHIP

Inspiring Leaders to empower others

WordPress.tv

Engage Yourself with WordPress.tv