The world has changed and recruiters need to change with it!


As an HR professional for a number of years I am consistently disappointed when I ask the simple question. What does HR do?

I guess my disappointment is that the answer I get today would have been the answer others would have received more than 50 years ago!!

I wrote a blog some time ago calling out to HR folks to “get it!”

I have been described as having an “edgy sophistication.” * If that means I am a different kind of HR professional, one who knows that my role in life is to build and develop a profitable business now and into the future, and is relentless about pursing that objective, then I take that as a compliment.

The reason for this blog is to call out a different approach to recruitment.

I am sick and tired of all the administration and “fandango” that goes with HR-Recruitment stuff that talks about fit for hire and associated administrative job descriptions!

My experience is that very few of the Recruiters – HR people who are involved in recruiting actually “feel what the business needs to be profitable.”

My simple message is throwaway traditional thinking. It might have worked 50 years ago, if it ever did, and move to one that identifies what the business needs 10 years from now and go hire those folks.

Imagination is a core competence that is rare to find and those are the people I would hire! And those are the people I would ask to do my recruitment.

(*) Attributed to me by Susan Kang Nam a friend and wise counselor

 The picture attributed to change_world.jpg singlenigerian.wordpress.com

 

About HRMexplorer

Managing Director - Human Capital Europe and USA - My ability is to recognize ingrained assumptions and patterns of operation that aren’t productive, and offer practical, cost-effective and value-based solutions.

Posted on November 6, 2011, in HRMexplorer Blogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Agreed! The recent boost in employee turnover in the marketplace calls for new methods in handling recruiting, that’s for sure. Thankfully it seems as though there is a new generation of HR and recruiting strategies on the horizon. Rather than judging and trusting employee and candidate potential through typical interviews, resumés and other “dated” hiring procedures, I think organizations should begin to focus on each of their potential (and even current) hires’ cultural fit in the workplace. Employee happiness, sense of worth, and sense of belonging has a giant impact on their performance and success in their place of work, and Roundpegg offers pre-hire assessments to scientifically ensure many dimensions of a candidate’s ‘fit’ in an organization. The assessments are quick, free, and available online, and can do wonders for your company in terms of recruiting the right people, and avoiding trying to fit a ‘square peg’ into a ’round hole’. If you or your company is experiencing some of the 80% turnover directly attributed to mistakes made in the hiring process, or if you’re curious about what it is Roundpegg can do for successful recruiting and hiring, feel free to take some of our assessments and check it out at http://www.Roundpegg.com. Great article, thank you for sharing!

  1. Pingback: On the Cusp | Essentially Jess

Leave a Reply

inspirationenergy

be inspired to greatness

Adventures, Aspirations and "Aha" Moments

An Itinerary Detailing New Years Resolutions

Pressed Words

An Amsterdam Adventure Blog

manageyourstaff

More about managing your people and business!

Tim Riecker

Tim's Thoughts on Emergency Management, Homeland Security, and Training

Sara Rickover, Behind the Corporate Veil

A blog about management, law, mediation and writing, by someone who has done them all

Northeastern Pennsylvania Veterans Multicare Alliance

Serving those who served in Northeastern PA

anjelicadesigns

I've decided to pursue my passion in jewellery designs since I love femininity and all things beautiful and sparkly, well almost all. I'm a proud mother to two gorgeous and amazing girls. I recently left the corporate world, went through a tragic loss and relationship breakdown yet I'm here alive and still very much wanting to pursue my dreams and maintain a state of happiness. This site opens up a new world for me to share and if I'm really privileged connect with with others.

change-effect

WORK, EMPLOYMENT & OTHER RELATED FRIPPERY

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Organic Leadership Blog

Thoughts During My Leadership Journey

Martin Dangerfield

Martin Dangerfield|Talent Acquisition

tmtConnect

Technology business matchmaking

The Whiteboard

New Zealand Recruitment Industry news, views and commentary from Rice Consulting

The Recruiters Little Black Book

News and views from the world of employment

HR Schoolhouse

Time to take your desks; school is in session

Recruiter's Couch

Because everyone is a candidate sometime

China Gorman

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,084 other followers

